#3: Favorite Song!

My favorite song on the album is definitely “Don’t Let Me Get Me”. I think this song is about her career struggles. She is sick of the image that people want her to be. Just as the title says, she doesn’t want to be her own obstacle. As I stated before, she just wants to break free from the stereotyping and not be “missundaztood”.

 The entire song is just her bringing herself down with lyrics such as “I can’t do nothin’ right”, “I’m my own worst enemy”, or “I’m a hazard to myself”. Maybe at times the stereotyping and her not fitting in gets to her at times, but overall I think she’s just saying that despite her not being perfect, she can’t let all the negative experiences and stuff bring her down; they can’t be a “hazard”. Her differences or her “not being able to take direction” don’t HAVE to be a negative aspect. At one point in the song she says “LA told me “You’ll be a pop star, all you have to change is everything you are”. Tired of being compared to damn Britney Spears, she’s so pretty, that just ain’t me”. Clearly, she just wants to be HERSELF and successful, not change everything about herself and be successful just because she’s singing what people WANT to hear.

 The reason why I chose this as my favorite song is just because I greatly connected to it. Pink is not singing about how much money or diamonds she has, she is being real and completely honest about her “negative” aspects. Pink just keeps bring herself down and “annoys” herself. That is exactly how I feel with myself most of the time, I am always so pessimistic about everything and it truly does annoy me. At times of failure, I feel like I am just not good enough (for example, failing a test and feeling like I’m the dumbest person in the world). I know I am not perfect and not like everyone else, but that doesn’t automatically have to be a negative aspect. Just like Pink, I think I’m my own worst enemy and my pessimism holds me back.

 

This song gets a rating of 4 out of 5!

Sources:

http://www.songmeanings.net/songs/view/67345/

http://www.lyricsfreak.com/p/pink/biography.html

Leave a Reply

