#2: Favorite Song. “Complicated”

One of my favorite songs on this album is “Complicated” because of how much this songs reflects on my life and I. I discovered it after hearing it on the radio. Whenever I listened to this song, I always thought and still think of my best friend. This was probably not the meaning of the song through Avril’s eyes, but that is why this is my favorite song I connected to it in a different way. When I was younger, and even to this day, me and my best friend would have little quarrels because I thought she was always someone else in front me and then in front of her friends and vice versa. It all makes sense now because of the age we were at at that time, but like the song said “You’re tryin’ to be cool you look like a fool to me”…exactly what I felt, it frustrated me so much. More generally, this song could also very well connect to many other people, especially in high school, who were two-faced. “I see the way you’re acting like you’re somebody else gets me frustrated”. That line could not explain my feelings at the time (and still to this day) any more accurately.

Another reason why I like this song is because of the beats and Avril’s range of vocals. Despite the fast playing guitar in the background, Avril still manages to sing slowly but at the same time include such a great message behind the song. Another thing that I absolutely love is the tiny bit of auto tune put in to make her voice almost a little bit raspy…great combination!

After doing some research, Avril’s definition of the song was about previous boyfriends or just in general, how fake people could be. While recording this song she actually said “People sometimes bother me how they’re not real and how they’re just, like, putting on a face and being two-faced”. Being that Avril dropped out of high school only 1-2 years ago to pursue her music career, she was definitely not a stranger to the cliques, “fakeness”, and drama throughout high school, which was a strong motivating factor for this song to be written. Looking through the internet, this song received a huge amount of awards. Not only that, but it was used in various movie soundtracks, video games, parodies and covers. Looks like everyone in some way made a connection to this song! No surprise that this song was one of her singles. Complicated definitely sums up the entire album.

Despite my connection and reaction to this song being pretty negative, it just makes me think of how far I have come with my friend. We have both known each other since we were crawling around in diapers, not being able to talk. The song just makes me see how much good and bad we have went through, but no matter what we’ll always be friends. And for the people in this world, there is always going to be fake and two-faced people. In the words of Avril,“Life’s like this”. ;P

Song gets a rating of 4.5 out of 5!

Sources:

http://searchwithstoryoftheyear.swagbucks.com/p/prize/27385/Avril-Lavigne-Complicated-MP3-Single

http://www.radaronline.com/photos/image/121978/2011/03/stars-who-never-graduate-high-school

http://www.metrolyrics.com/complicated-lyrics-avril-lavigne.html

Leave a Reply

